The Curriculum Development Committee of the Faculty of Medicine introduced its new curriculum for medical students in the year 2004 and it is known as “Beyond 2004 Programme”. The basic concept of this programme was assignment based learning with emphasis on self learning. 

Establishing the Electronic Information Resource Centre (E Library) was an important project to fulfill the self learning requirements of the “Beyond 2004 Programme”. 

When the University Grants Commission agreed to provide sufficient funds to establish the E Library in the year 2003, the construction work started under direct supervision of the Dean Prof.A.S.B.Wijekoon. 

Prof.A.S.B.Wijekoon, Dr.Nimal Rathnayake (Director, ICSU, Faculty of Engineering), Mr.Herath (Network Engineer), Mr. U.S.K.Ekanayake and Mr. G.A.B. Weerasekara Supervised the technical task. Mrs. Kusum Kongahakotuwa (Asst. registrar) and Mr. C. Amarakoon (Asst. Bursar) carried out relevant administrative and financial work of setting up of the E library.

The E-Library was ceremonially opened by Prof.Kapila Goonasekara, the Vice Chancellor of the University of Peradeniya, on 13th January 2005. 

Dr.Thilak Jayalath (Chairman, Computer Committee, Faculty of Medicince) was appointed as the Head/ E- Library to carryout the administrative work of the E - Library .

Now the E Library provides facilities to medical students to do their project work and surf the internet. New entrants use the facility for their computer awareness programme.


Future Plans
  • To provide more internet facility by increasing the      number   of new computers to 80
  • To have leased line to e-library for high speed internet access
  • To conduct regular work-shops on information technology
  • To provide updates on information technology by issuing a regular e- library Newsletter


  • Internet facility to staff and students
  • Electronic access to new curriculum
  • Teaching / learning area with computer facility
  • computers for project work
  • Purchasing and maintenance of equipment for faculty telecommunication system
  • Purchasing and maintenance of equipment for faculty intra and internet network
Founder Members

Prof. ASB Wijekoon.

Prof. Thilak Jayalath

Dr. Nimal Rathnayake