The Department was established in 1963 and the teaching programme started as a para-clinical subject for the first batch of students who entered the faculty in 1962. Prof. V Sivalingam, Professor of Parasitology of the Colombo Medical School privileged to become the first head of the department in June 1964. He had the distinction of being the first Professor of Parasitology of the University of Ceylon. The initial technical officers were Mr. Romaldo Jayasooriya, Mr. Bandarawatta and Mr. Mavilmada. Mr. Witharana and Mr. Amarasinghe were recruited as attendants.

Following the visions of pioneers, both the academics and the supporting staff members have immensely contributed for the undergraduate and postgraduate teaching, research, clinical services for the public and for the development of the department itself….

  • Prof. V. Sivalingam
  • Dr. Pathmadevi Nelson
  • Dr. Manel S. Wijesundara
  • Dr. Sarath Edirisinghe
  • Dr. Devika Iddawela



 Copyright ©2021-2024 | Faculty of Medicine, University of Peradeniya | All Rights Reserved.